fbn 154

The Durutti Column | Circuses And Bread

Factory Benelux presents a remastered 2xLP coloured vinyl edition of Circuses And Bread, the seventh studio album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column. Originally released by Factory Benelux and Factory in 1986, the original 9 tracks have now been expanded with 6 bonus pieces.
Self-produced by Vini Reilly at Strawberry and Revolution studios, the album saw Durutti playing as a quartet, with Reilly on guitar, vocals and keyboards, Bruce Mitchell on drums and percussion, John Metcalfe (viola) and Tim Kellett (trumpet). "The music ends up being very simple,' Vini told NME. 'People can dismiss it as being very simplistic, easy listening or whatever. It's very honest, it's very personal. People say it's ambient, and it's like Eno. I don't like that, because the music's made to be listened to, it's not wallpaper."
Of extended piece Blind Elevator Girl (Osaka), Vini adds: "The music really writes itself. For example, we're in Osaka, in Japan, getting in this elevator. It's very crowded with all these Japanese businessmen talking about distribution deals, and going on and on. On this lift was a beautiful Japanese girl, in an immaculate uniform. Each floor we arrived at, she's starting talking Japanese, obviously saying what was on each floor. We went higher and higher, and finally we get to the top. And then, sort of walking out of the elevator, I suddenly realised she was blind... It got to me, this girl. It was incredible. So maybe a day later, I was thinking about that, and the whole tune came out. And every single piece of music is like that."
Bonus tracks include Italian-only EP Greetings Three, scarce compilation track The Aftermath, and a previously unreleased working version of 1987 single Our Lady Of The Angels produced by the late Stuart 'Jammer' James. Cover art retains the original design by 8vo. The clear and orange vinyl set is housed in gatefold sleeve, with liner notes and rare band images. A CD version is also available (FBN 154CD).

| tracklist
A1 Pauline
A2 Tomorrow
A3 Dance II
A4 Hilary
A5 Street Fight
B1 Royal Infirmary
B2 Black Horses
B3 Dance I

C1 Blind Elevator Girl (Osaka)
C2 The Aftermath
C3 Our Lady of the Angels (Stu 'Jammer' James Mix)
D1 Florence Sunset
D2 All That Love & Maths Can Do
D3 San Giovanni Dawn
D4 For Friends In Italy

Copies are available at £ 30.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 35.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 40.00.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is ltmrecordings@gmail.com), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2020 by Factory Benelux & FB.