fbn 15

Minny Pops | Sparks In A Dark Room

Factory Benelux presents a remastered double vinyl limited edition of Sparks In A Dark Room, the second studio album by Dutch electronic group Minny Pops, originally released by Factory Benelux in May 1982.
Formed in Amsterdam in 1978 by vocalist Wally Van Middendorp, Minny Pops took their name from the primitive Korg drum machine which propelled their austere, post-punk rhythms and provocative live performances. An early association with Factory Records in Manchester saw the band work with producer Martin Hannett, share stages with Joy Division and New Order, and become the first Dutch band to record a BBC radio session for John Peel.
Self-produced by the group, Sparks In A Dark Room was recorded without a guitarist and as a result sounded unusually polished and layered, its smooth sequencers and motorik rhythms often redolent of Moroder, Kraftwerk and Cabaret Voltaire. This new vinyl edition on FBN also adds a bonus disc featuring an entire live performance (13 tracks), recorded at Amsterdam Melkweg on 7 April 2012 on their 30th anniversary tour, with original members Wally Van Middendorp, Wim Dekker and Pieter Mulder joined by new guitarist Mark Ritsema.
Available on black vinyl and on limited blue/orange vinyl.

| tracklist
A1 Mountain
A2 A Feeling
A3 Tracking
A4 Crack
A5 Vital
A6 Blue Roses
B1 Black Eye
B2 Wong
B3 Experience
B4 Dream
B5 Night Visit
B6 Trance

C1 Kogel
C2 Blue Roses
C3 Tracking
C4 Vital
C5 Goddess
C6 Dolphins Spurt
C7 Wong
D1 Night Visit
D2 Secret Story
D3 Time
D4 Trance
D5 Mental
D6 Son

Copies are available by mailorder from Factory Benelux for the price of £ 25,- per copy (incl. UK postage) and £ 30,- per copy (incl. Overseas postage).

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is jnice@ltmpub.freeserve.co.uk), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2014 by LTM Publishing & FB.