fbn 164

The Durutti Column | M24J (Anthology)

M24J (Anthology) is a collection of valuable passages recorded by The Durutti Column between 1979 and 2011 for various iterations of Factory Records, including poignant tributes to manager/mentor Anthony H. Wilson.
Available as a double vinyl set, and also a double cd, M24J (Anthology) includes selections from The Return Of The Durutti Column, LC, Another Setting, Short Stories For Pauline, Without Mercy, Circuses And Bread, The Guitar And Other Machines, Vini Reilly, Obey The Time, Treatise On The Steppenwolf and A Paean To Wilson.
"The Durutti Column was Tonyís baby," says Durutti mainman Vini Reilly. "We were the first act signed up to his Factory club night, and the first band signed to Factory Records. Tony became my mentor, somebody to look up to. He was a very tough character, yet he was very gentle. He had many sides. The biggest arguments with Tony were that he wanted to stop me singing with my schoolboy lyrics and my dreadful voice."
Reilly's music remains resolutely unclassifiable, and sounds better and better with each passing year. "Donít listen to the form," he insists, "listen to the content. Don't listen to the style, the tradition, the technique, just the content of the music. Then judge. People say The Durutti Column is this or that. I donít care so long as we make good music. There's so much good music around. Don't bother with form. Just enjoy."
The bonus 7Ē included with the vinyl package features two previously unreleased live recordings. One is a cover of Albatross by Peter Green, recorded in 2004; the other is Spooky Tune, recorded with Poppy Morgan at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester in 2011, Vini's last major concert to date. The remastered set is housed in a double gatefold sleeve printed on white matt board and includes a digital copy (MP3). The cover portrait of Vini Reilly is by Mark Warner.

| tracklist
A1 Sketch For Summer
A2 Lips That Would Kiss
A3 For Belgian Friends
A4 Danny
A5 Messidor
B1 Mercy Theme (Duet)
B2 Estoril A Noite
B3 All That Love And Maths Can Do
B4 Catos Con Guantas

C1 Prayer
C2 Otis
C3 Love No More
C4 Home
C5 A Beautiful Thought Pt.1
D1 Anthony (Favourite Descending Intervals)
D2 A Paean to Wilson I: Or Are You Just a Technician?
D3 A Paean to Wilson II: Chant
D4 A Paean to Wilson IX: Darkness Here
D6 Glimpse

E1 Albatross (Live Nottingham 2004)
F1 Spooky Tune (Live Manchester 2011)



All contents Copyright © 2018 by LTM Publishing & FB.