fbn 244cd

The Durutti Column | Vini Reilly + WOMAD Live

Factory Benelux presents an expanded double disc edition of Vini Reilly, the acclaimed seventh studio album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column. Originally released by Factory Records in 1989, the album has now been newly remastered with 23 bonus tracks including companion single WOMAD Live.
Produced by Vini Reilly and Stephen Street (The Smiths, Morrissey, Blur), the original working title of the Vini Reilly album was The Durutti Column Sampler. "People describe them as found samples and found voices," explained Vini at the time. "I always build up a catalogue of interesting loops and voice samples and stuff. Then I forget where I got them from a lot of the time, which is quite convenient... A lot of the time I manipulate the sample anyway, so it's singing my tune, rather than the original tune."
Stand-out tracks include Otis, Love No More and My Country. "The tune always comes from playing the guitar," added Vini. "As soon as I pick a guitar up Iíll come up with a tune. I donít know whether itís good or bad - but thereís always a tune there." The sleeve itself samples Bob Dylan circa Highway 61 Revisited, showcasing an iconic portrait by Mark Warner. Indeed much about the album flirts with mainstream culture, being a deliberate attempt to position Reilly as a 'pop' artist following his chart-topping collaboration with Morrissey on Viva Hate. This collaboration was further celebrated on bonus track For Steven Patrick.
Other bonus tracks on this 2020 double-disc remaster include a multitude of demos and outtakes from the same period (some previously issued on The Sporadic Recordings in 1989), plus all four tracks from pristine performance CD WOMAD Live. Recorded at the WOMAD Festival in Cornwall in August 1988, the core Durutti duo of Vini Reilly and Bruce Mitchell are here augmented by Andy Connell on keys and Chinese opera singer Liu Sola.

There is an optional single-track 3rd CD (FBN 244CD BIS) available for FBN mailorder customers only (NOT shops).

| tracklist
01 Love No More
02 Pol In G
03 Opera I
04 Peopleís Pleasure Park
05 Red Square
06 Finding The Sea
07 Otis
08 William B
09 They Work Every Day
10 Opera II
11 Homage to Catalonia
12 Requiem Again
13 My Country
14 Otis (Live)
15 English Landscape Tradition (Live)
16 Finding The Sea (Live)
17 Bordeaux (Live)

01 Opera II (Demo)
02 Finding The Sea I
03 PPP (Demo)
04 Juan Montero Sketch I
05 Sample Tune
06 Finding The Sea II
07 Juan Montero Sketch II
08 William B (Demo)
09 Sketches On Stratocaster
10 Dry
11 Paradise Passage Road
12 Les Preger's Tune
13 Buddhist Prayer
14 Misere
15 Real Drums Ė Real Drummer
16 Pathway
17 Rob Greyís Elegy
18 Shirt No.7
19 For Steven Patrick

Optional 3rd CD
01 I Know Very Well How I Got My Note Wrong

Copies are available at £ 12.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 14.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 16.00.

Copies including the single-track 3rd CD are available at £ 16.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 18.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 20.00.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is ltmrecordings@gmail.com), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2020 by Factory Benelux & FB.