fbn 244

The Durutti Column | Vini Reilly + WOMAD Live

Factory Benelux presents an expanded double vinyl edition of Vini Reilly, the acclaimed seventh studio album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column. Originally released by Factory Records in 1989, just 1000 copies have been pressed for Record Store Day Drop Day #1, August 29 2020.
Produced by Vini Reilly and Stephen Street (The Smiths, Morrissey, Blur), the original working title of the album was The Durutti Column Sampler. "People describe them as found samples and found voices," explained Vini at the time. "I always build up a catalogue of interesting loops and voice samples and stuff. Then I forget where I got them from a lot of the time, which is quite convenient... A lot of the time I manipulate the sample anyway, so it's singing my tune, rather than the original tune."
Stand-out tracks include Otis, Love No More and My Country. The sleeve itself samples Bob Dylan circa Highway 61 Revisited, showcasing an iconic portrait by Mark Warner. Indeed much about the album flirts with mainstream culture, being a deliberate attempt to position Reilly as a 'pop'artist following his chart-topping collaboration with Morrissey on Viva Hate. This collaboration is further explored on the bonus 7" single, which features rare outtake I Know Very Well How I Got My Note Wrong and exquisite homage For Steven Patrick.
Bonus tracks on this 2020 double-disc remaster include several never before issued on vinyl, including William B and Red Square from the extended CD version of Vini Reilly, plus all four tracks from pristine performance CD WOMAD Live. Recorded at the WOMAD Festival in Cornwall in August 1988, the core Durutti duo of Vini Reilly and Bruce Mitchell are here augmented by Andy Connell on keys and Chinese opera singer Liu Sola.

| tracklist
A1 Love No More
A2 Pol In G
A3 Opera I
A4 People's Pleasure Park
A5 Finding The Sea
B1 Otis
B2 They Work Every Day
B3 Opera II
B4 Homage To Catalonia
B5 Requiem Again
B6 My Country

C1 Red Square
C2 William B
C3 Dry
C4 Paradise Passage Road
C5 My Country (Monarchy Mix)
D1 Otis (Live)
D2 English Landscape Tradition (Live)
D3 Finding The Sea (Live)
D4 Bordeaux (Live)

E1 I Know Very Well How I Got My Note Wrong
F1 For Steven Patrick



All contents Copyright © 2020 by Factory Benelux & FB.