fbn 274cd

The Durutti Column | Obey The Time

Factory Benelux presents a deluxe 3xCD box set edition of Obey The Time, the eighth studio album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column. Originally released by Factory Records in December 1990, the original 10 tracks have now been expanded to no less than 43.
Largely self-produced, and entirely instrumental, Obey The Time saw DC mainman Vini Reilly further develop his interest in electronic music, and even embracing house and techno stylings. "The title came screaming off the TV screen in somebody's version of Othello and captured exactly the feel of the work in progress," explained Tony Wilson, Durutti manager and Factory founder: "We were in the middle of the Aceeed explosion. If you lived in Manchester, you were absolutely in the middle of it. Vini even explained why House made keyboards sound so fresh. Something to do with a chord being played with 3 or 4 notes into the sampler, but then different chords being triggered by a single key stroke. Creating mathematical harmonic relationships 'which Schoenberg had searched for but never found'."
Indeed veteran Durutti percussionist Bruce Mitchell features on just one track, Art And Freight. Marking a further break with tradition, dance exploration Contra-Indications was taped with New Order programmer (and later co-manager) Andy Robinson. Released in December 1990, Obey The Time (Fact 274) would be the last Durutti Column album on Factory before the label collapsed beneath a mountain of debt.
The multitude of studio extras spread across Discs 1 and 2 include single and remix tracks The Together Mix and Kiss Of Def, rare compilation cuts such as The New Fidelity, The Awards Show and Times Like These, and several extracts from two unreleased Factory albums recorded during the same 1989/90 period: Guitar One: House (Fact 254) and Guitar Two: Acoustic (Fact 264).
Disc 3 features 11 live tracks from a previously unreleased performance at Manchester University Whitworth Hall on 23 June 1990 (opportunistically billed as 'The Acid Guitar'), on which Reilly and Mitchell are joined by guests Andy Connell, Liu Sola and Rob Gray. Original cover art by 8vo. The remastered set is housed in a clamshell card box, with individual inner sleeves and liner notes.

| tracklist
01 Vino Della Casa Bianco
02 Hotel Of The Lake 1990
03 Fridays
04 Home
05 Art And Freight
06 Spanish Reggae
07 Neon
08 The Warmest Rain
09 Contra-Indications
10 Vino Della Casa Rosso
11 The Together Mix
12 For Zinni III
13 Fridays (Up-Person Mix)
14 Kiss Of Def
15 The New Fidelity

01 Together (Razormaid Mix)
02 Megamix
03 Dry
04 Out Of The Blue
05 Paradise Passage Road
06 Rope Around My Neck
07 Short
08 Boat People 1
09 Boat People 2
10 Grade 2 Duet
11 Octaves
12 For Madelaine II
13 Pete's Riff
14 The Crowned Goddess
15 Times Like These
16 The Awards Show
17 My Country (Monarchy Mix)

01 Home (Live)
02 What It Means To Me Woman (Live)
03 English Landscape Tradition (Live)
04 Opera II (Live)
05 Finding The Sea (Live)
06 Otis (Live)
07 Jacqueline (Live)
08 Requiem Again (Live)
09 Take Some Time Out (Live)
10 The Missing Boy (Live)
11 Sketch For Summer (Live)

Copies are available at £ 20.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 22.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 23.00.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is ltmrecordings@gmail.com), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2019 by Factory Benelux & FB.