fbn 29cd

The Wake | Harmony + Singles/Lost Recordings 1981-83

Factory Benelux presents a new tri-fold digipak double CD edition of Harmony, the debut album by influential Scottish group The Wake. Originally released by Factory Records in December 1982, this new expanded edition marks the 40th anniversary of this landmark postpunk album.
The Wake formed in Glasgow in 1981 after singer/guitarist Caesar left Altered Images, and joined Factory the following year. Harmony was recorded at Strawberry Studios in Stockport with producer Chris Nagle (formerly Martin Hannett's preferred engineer), by which time the group comprised Caesar (vocals, guitar), Carolyn Allen (keyboards), Steven Allen (drums) and Bobby Gillespie (bass). On release as Fact 60 the original 7 track mini album earned a 5 star review in Sounds magazine, hailed as the missing indiepop link between Factory and Postcard Records.
Bonus tracks on CD1 include The Wake's dub-informed second single, Something Outside, rare debut single On Our Honeymoon, and also their John Peel session from July 1983, the last recordings to feature Gillespie before his departure for The Jesus and Mary Chain and Primal Scream.
CD2, originally issued as a bonus CD with the LP compilation Testament (FBN 95), is a fascinating collection of 21 lost recordings compiled from live and demo cassettes located in the Rob Gretton tape archive, all taped between 1981 and 1983. The enhanced artwork for this new edition includes images of the band by noted photographer Paul Slattery, taken at the Mitchell Library in Glasgow, as well as new liner notes by Caesar. A triple vinyl edition with different bonus tracks is also available (FBN 29).
After releasing several further albums on Factory and Sarah Records during the 1980s and 1990s, The Wake returned to recording with A Light Far Out in 2012. A new studio album is expected in 2023.

| tracklist
01 Favour
02 Heartburn
03 An Immaculate Conception
04 Judas
05 Testament
06 Patrol
07 The Old Men
08 Change
09 Something Outside
10 Host
11 The Drill
12 Uniform
13 Here Comes Everybody
14 On Our Honeymoon
15 Give Up

01 Move With The Times (Demo)
02 Communion (Demo)
03 No More Green Space (Demo)
04 Move With The Times Reprise (Demo)
05 Move With The Times (Live 1981)
06 Cold Home (Live 1981)
07 Communion (Live 1981)
08 No More Green Space (Live 1981)
09 Patrol (Live 1981)
10 Give Up (Live 1981)
11 Careering (Live 1981)
12 Favour (Live 1982)
13 Cold Home (Live 1982)
14 Forced To Think (Live 1982)
15 Patrol (Live 1982)
16 Give Up (Live 1982)
17 Move With The Times (Live 1982)
18 An Immaculate Conception (Live 1982)
19 Chance (Demo)
20 Judas (Demo)
21 Company (Live 1983)

Copies are available at £ 14.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 18.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 20.00.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is ltmrecordings@gmail.com), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2022 by LTM Publishing & FB.