fbn 29

The Wake | Harmony + Singles/Live 1983

Factory Benelux presents a new 3 disc black vinyl edition of Harmony, the debut album by influential Scottish group The Wake. Originally released by Factory Records in December 1982, this new expanded edition marks the 40th anniversary of this landmark postpunk album.
The Wake formed in Glasgow in 1981 after singer/guitarist Caesar left Altered Images, and joined Factory the following year. Harmony was recorded at Strawberry Studios in Stockport with producer Chris Nagle (formerly Martin Hannett's preferred engineer), by which time the group comprised Caesar (vocals, guitar), Carolyn Allen (keyboards), Steven Allen (drums) and Bobby Gillespie (bass). On release as Fact 60 the original 7 track mini album earned a 5 star review in Sounds magazine, hailed as the missing indiepop link between Factory and Postcard Records.
Bonus tracks on Disc 2 include The Wake's dub-informed second single, Something Outside b/w Host, and also their John Peel session from July 1983, the last recordings to feature Gillespie before his departure for The Jesus and Mary Chain and Primal Scream.
Disc 3 offers a desk recorded live set from Ayr Pavilion on 15 April 1983 during a tour with New Order. The concert includes several songs never recorded in the studio, including Recovery and Country Of The Blind. The enhanced trifold artwork for this new edition includes images of the band by noted photographer Paul Slattery, taken at the Mitchell Library in Glasgow, as well as new liner notes by Caesar. A 2xCD edition with different bonus tracks is also available (FBN 29 CD).
After releasing several further albums on Factory and Sarah Records during the 1980s and 1990s, The Wake returned to recording with A Light Far Out in 2012. A new studio album is expected in 2023.

| tracklist
A1 Judas
A2 Testament
A3 Patrol
A4 The Old Men
B1 Favour
B2 Heartburn
B3 An Immaculate Conception
B4 Chance

C1 Something Outside
C2 Host
D1 The Drill (Peel Session)
D2 Uniform (Peel Session)
D3 Here Comes Everybody (Peel Session)

E1 Heartburn (Live)
E2 Host (Live)
E3 Recovery (Live)
E4 Uniform (Live)
F1 The Old Men (Live)
F2 Something Outside (Live)
F3 Country Of The Blind (Live)
F4 The Drill (Live)

Copies are available at £ 30.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 40.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 50.00.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is ltmrecordings@gmail.com), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2022 by LTM Publishing & FB.