fbn 52cd

The Durutti Column | Domo Arigato (Deluxe)

Factory Benelux presents an expanded 4xdisc edition of Domo Arigato, the acclaimed live album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column, recorded in Tokyo in April 1985. Domo Arigato followed on the heels of ambitious 'modern classical' album Without Mercy a year earlier, and saw composer/guitarist Vini Reilly and percussionist Bruce Mitchell augmented by John Metcalfe on viola and Tim Kellet on trumpet. Their show-cum-recital at the Kan'i Hoken Hall on 25 April was recorded digitally and filmed on two 35mm cameras. "Mixing down was fun," recalled Durutti manager/mentor Anthony H. Wilson. "We were on a flight out next morning so Nippon Columbia hired a mobile studio recording truck and we mixed from midnight to 6 a.m."
In fact the group always considered this rather hurried mix imperfect, and therefore for this greatly expanded 2017 reissue Factory Benelux have returned to the original soundboard tapes and remastered the entire 90 minute performance, in the process restoring the original running order. Disc 1 of the clamshell boxset presents the original digital mix from 1985, while discs 2 and 3 include the 2017 soundboard remaster, plus a previously unreleased gig from Tokyo Loft Club on 29 April 1984. Disc 4 is an NTSC format DVD featuring a pristine transfer of the original Japanese laserdisc edition of Domo Arigato, which is the filmed version of the show with the 1985 digital mix. In clamshell box.
A double disc vinyl edition is also available with a bonus 7 single, Dedications For Japan (FBN 52).

| tracklist
01 Sketch For Summer
02 Sketch For Dawn
03 Mercy Theme
04 A Little Mercy
05 Jacqueline
06 Dream Of A Child
07 Mercy Dance
08 The Room
09 E.E.
10 Blind Elevator Girl
11 Tomorrow
12 For Belgian Friends
13 The Missing Boy
14 Self Portrait
15 audience noise

01 Sketch For Summer
02 Sketch For Dawn
08 Party
04 Never Known
05 Mercy Theme
06 A Little Mercy
07 Jacqueline
08 Dream Of A Child
09 Mercy Dance
10 A Silence
11 The Room
12 E.E.
13 Pauline
14 Conduct
15 Tomorrow

01 Blind Elevator Girl
02 The Beggar
03 For Belgian Friends
04 The Missing Boy
05 Self Portrait
06 Sketch For Dawn (Loft Club 1984)
07 Sketch For Summer (Loft Club 1984)
08 Jacqueline (Loft Club 1984)
09 Without Mercy Version (Loft Club 1984)
10 Love Fading (Loft Club 1984)
11 Take Some Time Out/Messidor (Loft Club 1984)
12 Never Known (Loft Club 1984)
13 Dream Of A Child (Loft Club 1984)

01 Sketch For Summer
02 Sketch For Dawn
03 A Little Mercy
04 Mercy Dance
05 The Room
06 E.E.
07 Blind Elevator Girl
08 For Belgian Friends
09 The Missing Boy

Copies are available at £ 20.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 22.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 23.00.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is ltmrecordings@gmail.com), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2017 by LTM Publishing & FB.