fbn 81cd

Crispy Ambulance | Random Textures + Compulsion

Factory Benelux presents Random Textures, a new instrumental album by cult Manchester postpunk group Crispy Ambulance, issued as a double CD set with 2015 album Compulsion added as a bonus disc. Random Textures features material written by the band for a series of multi-media events in Manchester during 2015/16 and billed as the Subliminal Impulse Review. The producer is longterm collaborator Graham Massey of 808 State/Biting Tongues. "After a few years of playing our Factory back catalogue it felt like time for a change," explains frontman Alan Hempsall. "The best way to force a change in our composing methods and move forward was for me to stop singing. We’ve always liked doing material that could be used as soundtrack music - albeit for fairly disturbing films. Random Textures is the sound of us spooking ourselves in our cellar studio."
Companion disc Compulsion was originally issued in a limited edition of 500 vinyl copies for Record Store Day in 2015. In many respects it's the second album Crispy Ambulance might have recorded in 1982 after the release of seminal debut The Plateau Phase, with seven of the ten tracks written and performed live at that time. To these are added Rain Without Clouds, an outtake newly restored from the original multitrack masters, and remixes of Four Line Whip and WMTP.2 by producer-cum fifth member Graham Massey.
Almost uniquely, Crispy Ambulance has retained the same line-up since the group was originally founded in 1978: Alan Hempsall (vocals, keyboards), Gary Madeley (drums), Robert Davenport (guitars), Keith Darbyshire (bass). Cover image by Paul Normann. Mailorder copies come in Factory Benelux slipcase.

| tracklist
01 Integra
02 Allegro
03 Prostis
04 Four Bank Man
05 Drifter
06 Baku
07 Peripheral Vision
08 Karpadia
09 Bastion
10 Leviathan
11 Red Texas

01 Rainforest Ritual
02 Say Shake
03 Nightfall Ends The Ceasefire
04 At The Sound Of The Klaxon
05 WMTP.2
06 Rain Without Clouds
07 Lucifer Rising
08 Open, Gates Of Fire
09 Choral
10 Four Line Whip Remix

Copies are available by mailorder from Factory Benelux for the price of £ 12,- per copy (incl. UK postage), £ 14,- per copy (incl. Euro postage), £ 15,- per copy (incl. overseas postage).

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is ltmrecordings@gmail.com), as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Factory Benelux/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764
Mail: info@factorybenelux.com

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2016 by LTM Publishing & FB.