fbn 95

The Wake | Testament (Best Of)

Factory Benelux presents Testament, a comprehensive 'best of' collection by influential Scottish group The Wake, including tracks recorded for cult labels Factory and Sarah Records.
The Wake formed in Glasgow in early 1981 after singer/guitarist Caesar left future pop stars Altered Images. Joined by Carolyn Allen (keyboards), Steven Allen (drums) and Bobby Gillespie (bass), the band joined Factory the following year, recording debut mini album Harmony at Strawberry Studios in Stockport and subsequently hailed as the missing indiepop link between Factory and Postcard Records. After Gillespie departed for Primal Scream and the Jesus and Mary Chain, The Wake issued second album Here Comes Everybody in 1985, with standout track O Pamela later covered by artful French ensemble Nouvelle Vague.
After leaving Factory the group joined cult Bristol imprint Sarah Records, releasing a brace of indiepop singles and albums in the Nineties before going on hiatus. Caesar and Carolyn reconvened as The Wake in 2009, releasing fifth album A Light Far Out three years later, with more new material due in 2015.
Testament combines key album tracks with popular singles including On Our Honeymoon, Something Outside, Talk About The Past, Of The Matter and Crush The Flowers. Also included is a previously unreleased 7 edit of Pale Spectre. This LP edition includes a 54 minute bonus CD featuring 21 early live and demo recordings from 1981/82, preserved in the tape archive of Joy Division/New Order manager Rob Gretton. Among these priceless lost recordings are 7 songs never before heard even on bootlegs. The artwork for Testament is based on the artwork for an unreleased cassette edition of Here Comes Everybody, designed by Peter Saville. Also available on CD (FBN 95 CD).

| tracklist
A1 On Our Honeymoon
A2 Favour
A3 Something Outside
A4 Talk About The Past
A5 O Pamela
B1 Melancholy Man
B2 Of The Matter
B3 Pale Spectre (7" Edit)
B4 Crush The Flowers
B5 Methodist

01 Move With The Times (Demo)
02 Communion (Demo)
03 No More Green Space (Demo)
04 Move With The Times Reprise (Demo)
05 Move With The Times (Live 1981)
06 Cold Home (Live 1981)
07 Communion (Live 1981)
08 No More Green Space (Live 1981)
09 Patrol (Live 1981)
10 Give Up (Live 1981)
11 Careering (Live 1981)
12 Favour (Live 1982)
13 Cold Home (Live 1982)
14 Forced To Think (Live 1982)
15 Patrol (Live 1982)
16 Give Up (Live 1982)
17 Move With The Times (Live 1982)
18 An Immaculate Conception (Live 1982)
19 Chance (Demo)
20 Judas (Demo)
21 Company (Live 1983)



All contents Copyright © 2014 by LTM Publishing & FB.