fbn 9

The Names | Swimming

Factory Benelux presents a deluxe double vinyl edition of Swimming, the debut album by Belgian new wave group The Names, originally issued in June 1982.
Between 1979 and 1982 The Names recorded a string of excellent records for Factory, Factory Benelux and Les Disques du Crépuscule, all helmed by legendary producer Martin Hannett. Recorded at Strawberry Studios in Manchester, Swimming has come to be regarded as a European cold wave classic, combining strong songwriting from Michel Sordinia and poised, tasteful delivery by guitarist Marc Deprez and keyboards player Christophe Den Tandt.
Bonus tracks include the popular singles Calcutta, Nightshift, The Astronaut and Spectators Of Life, and the band's John Peel session from February 1982, the first ever recorded by a Belgian band. The gatefold sleeve also features original artwork and poster design by Benoit Hennebert, and photographs by Marc Portée.

| tracklist
A1 Discovery
A2 Floating World
A3 The Fire
A4 Life By The Sea
A5 White Shadows
B1 Harmony
B2 Shanghai Gesture
B3 Leave Her To Heaven
B4 Light

C1 Music For Someone
C2 Calcutta
C3 Nightshift
C4 The Astronaut
C5 Spectators Of Life
D1 Life By The Sea (Peel Session)
D2 Discovery (Peel Session)
D3 Shanghai Gesture (Peel Session)
D4 Harmony (Peel Session)



All contents Copyright © 2012 by LTM Publishing & FB.