ltmcd 2390

Lowlife | Permanent Sleep + Rain

Second release in LTM's CD reissue programme by cult Scottish dream-pop band Lowlife, who released a string of acclaimed albums between 1985 and 1995. Lowlife were formed in Grangemouth 1985 when original Cocteau Twins bassist Will Heggie joined former Dead Neighbours members Craig Lorentsen, Grant McDowell and Stuart Everest. Their atmospheric, moody soundscapes were often compared to Joy Division, New Order, Comsat Angels and - yes - The Cocteau Twins, yet the band received widespread acclaim over the course of six albums released through indie label Nightshift: Rain (1985), Permanent Sleep (1986), Diminuendo (1987), Godhead (1989), The Black Sessions (1988), San Antorium (1991) and Gush (1995).
Permanent Sleep + Rain combines the six track mini album Rain (released in 1985) with all eight tracks from debut album proper Permanent Sleep from 1986, as well as extra track From Side To Side (original mix) from the 1986 ep Vain Delights. The CD has been digitally re-mastered from the original master tapes, and features 15 tracks (70 minutes of music). The booklet features liner notes by journalist and former manager Brian Guthrie, as well as photos and ephemera.

| tracklist
01 Coward's Way
02 As It Happens
03 Mother Tongue
04 Wild Swan
05 Permanent Sleep
06 A Year Past July
07 The Betting And Gaming Act 1964
08 Do We Party?
09 Sometime: Something
10 Reflections Of I
11 Gallery Of Shame
12 Sense Of Fondness
13 Hail Ye
14 Again And Again
15 From Side To Side (version)

Copies are available by mailorder from LTM for the price of £ 10,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 2,00 per CD, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 3,00 per CD. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

LTM Publishing/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2005 by LTM Publishing & FB.