ltmcd 2391

Various Artists | Shadowplayers (documentary film)

Feature-length documentary tracing the early history of iconic Manchester record label Factory Records between 1978 and 1981. The film was made by director James Nice.
The Facts and fictions are explored through candid interviews with 22 key participants, including Anthony H. Wilson (founder) and Peter Saville (designer), as well as musicians including Peter Hook (Joy Division/New Order), Vini Reilly (Durutti Column), Simon Topping and Martin Moscrop (A Certain Ratio), Chris Watson (Cabaret Voltaire) and Howard Devoto (Buzzcocks/Magazine).
Other interviews include members of Section 25, Crispy Ambulance, The Names, Minny Pops, Swamp Children and Thick Pigeon, as well as other eyewitnesses and insiders such as Richard Boon, Annik Honore, Lindsay Reade, Richard Jobson, Graham Massey and Killing Joke.
The film runs for more than 2 hours and is divided into 19 chapters, covering subjects such as The Factory Club, sleeve art and graphic design, genius producer Martin Hannett, the riot at the Joy Division concert at Bury in April 1980, the Factory Benelux connection, the tragic suicide of Joy Division singer Ian Curtis, the beginnings of New Order, and the decline of the post-punk culture in 1981. Shadowplayers is based exclusively on new spoken word interviews, with soundtrack music by Section 25 and New Order, and rare images and graphics. DVD extras include individual profiles for each interviewee. The disc is Region 0 (multi-region), NTSC format.

| chapters
01 USE HEARING PROTECTION - The Factory Club, opened May 1978
02 A FACTORY SAMPLE - January 1979, Durutti Column, Cabaret Voltaire, John Dowie and Joy Division
03 FACTORY FOREMEN - Five heterosexual directors
04 UNKNOWN PLEASURES - Joy Division's debut album released in May 1979, produced by Martin Hannett
05 ZERO - Martin Hannett, record producer
06 SITUATIONIST GROUP - Vini Reilly and The Durutti Column
07 THE THIN BOYS - first single by A Certain Ratio, All Night Party, with no drummer
08 LARRY AND VINNY - Section 25 are from Blackpool, Lancashire
09 GET IN THE VAN - Heads, tales, Cocks and Jokers on the road
10 RUE DE MANCHESTER - Joy Division and Cabaret Voltaire play Plan K, Brussels, 16 October 1979
11 THE RAINBOW - On 4 April 1980 Joy Division and Section 25 played two London venues
12 FACTORY BENELUX - Friends in Belgium (and Holland)
13 DISORDER - Bury Derby Hall, 8 April 1980
14 IN A LONELY PLACE - 18 May 1980. On the eve of Joy Division's first US tour, Ian Curtis hangs himself
15 BENEATH THE PAVEMENT - New Order debut at The Beach Club, Manchester, on 29 July 1980
16 OF FACTORY AMERICA - New Order and A Certain Ratio in New York, September 1980
17 FUTURISTS - The first New Order album, Movement, released in November 1981
18 CHOIR BOYS - Schoolboy lyrics and timbales
19 LIKE PUNK NEVER HAPPENED - New pop, old ways

Copies are available by mailorder from LTM for the price of £ 12,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 2,00 per DVD, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 3,00 per DVD. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

LTM Publishing/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2006 by LTM Publishing & FB.