ltmcd 2392

Lowlife | Diminuendo + Singles

Third release in LTM's CD reissue programme by cult Scottish dream-pop band Lowlife, who released a string of acclaimed albums between 1985 and 1995. Lowlife were formed in Grangemouth 1985 when original Cocteau Twins bassist Will Heggie joined former Dead Neighbours members Craig Lorentsen, Grant McDowell and Stuart Everest. Their atmospheric, moody soundscapes were often compared to Joy Division, New Order, Comsat Angels and - yes - The Cocteau Twins, yet the band received widespread acclaim over the course of six albums released through indie label Nightshift: Rain (1985), Permanent Sleep (1986), Diminuendo (1987), Godhead (1989), The Black Sessions (1988), San Antorium (1991) and Gush (1995).
Diminuendo + Singles combines all nine tracks from the second album Diminuendo (released in 1987) with 7 bonus tracks taken from the non-album singles and eps Hollow Gut, Vain Delights and Swirl It Swings. The CD has been digitally re-mastered from the original master tapes, and features 74 minutes of music. The booklet features liner notes by journalist and former manager Brian Guthrie, as well as photos and ephemera.

| tracklist
01 A Sullen Sky
02 Big Uncle Ugliness
03 Ragged Rise To Tumbledown
04 From Side To Side
05 Off Pale Yellow
06 Tongue Tied And Twisted
07 Licking One's Wounds
08 Wonders Will Never Cease
09 Given To Dreaming
10 Hollow Gut
11 Permanent Sleep (Steel Mix)
12 Eternity Road (12" version)
13 Swing
14 Colours Blue
15 Ramafied

Copies are available by mailorder from LTM for the price of £ 10,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 1,50 per CD, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 2,00 per CD. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

LTM Publishing/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2005 by LTM Publishing & FB.