ltmcd 2415

The French Impressionists | A Selection Of Songs

The first CD from cult Scots new jazz ensemble The French Impressionists, who recorded for Les Disques du Crepuscule and Operation Twilight between 1981 and 1983. Formed by pianist and songwriter Malcolm Fisher in Glasgow, at first the band were allied to the Postcard Records stable, recording a first demo in June 1981 with the help of vocalist Paul Quinn and Roddy Frame and Campbell Owens of Aztec Camera. Fisher then formed a proper band in 1982 first with singer Beatrice Colin and later with singer Louise Ness, recording further demos as well as the melodic singles A Selection Of Songs and Santa Baby.
This digitally remastered CD contains 18 tracks, including all the songs recorded by the band for singles and compilation albums, and 5 in-concert tracks recorded live in Glasgow. The booklet includes a detailed band biography. After the band split in 1983, Malcolm Fisher relocated to Milan and has recorded several albums of solo piano music. Two cycles from these later recordings, Seven Suite and Lantern Suite, grace this CD as bonus tracks.

| tracklist
01 Pick Up The Rhythm
02 Blue Skies
03 Since You've Been Away
04 Theme From Walking Home
05 Santa Baby
06 Castles In The Air
07 Mannequin
08 Rainbows Never End
09 Waiting For Someone
10 Boo Boo's Gone Mambo
11 My Guardian Angel
12 My Rainy Day (Live)
13 Nothing Really Matters (Live)
14 Blue Skies (Live)
15 Helpless (Live)
16 Summertime (Live)
18 MALCOLM FISHER Lantern Suite

Copies are available by mailorder from LTM for the price of £ 10,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 2,00 per CD, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 3,00 per CD. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

LTM Publishing/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2004 by LTM Publishing & FB.