ltmcd 2531

A Certain Ratio | Mind Made Up

LTM presents the new album by iconic post-punk funk outfit A Certain Ratio, their 15th long player since their debut on Factory Records in 1979. Produced by Ratio in Manchester between 2006 and 2009, Mind Made Up marks a stunning return to hard-edged funky form.
"The songs are timeless and true to ACR's roots," says drummer Donald Johnson. "The emphasis was placed on keeping it simple in the studio. Trickery was kept to a minimum and we never took more than three takes on any track."
"Most songs we jammed in a rehearsal one week and recorded the next," says guitarist Martin Moscrop. "We didn't rehearse them too much so that they were rough round the edges. And the lyrics are some of the best Jez has ever produced. You'll also hear old ACR influences throughout the album. Teri was actually the first song ACR ever wrote, but it has never been recorded or released until now."
The band line-up remains unchanged since Ratio's last studio album way back in 1996, comprising Jeremy Kerr (vocals, bass), Denise Johnson (vocals), Martin Moscrop (guitar), Donald Johnson (drums), Tony Quigley (keys, sax) and Liam Mullen (keys).

| tracklist
01 Feel Light
02 Down, Down Down
03 Everything Is Good
04 Way To Escape
05 Rialto 6
06 Mind Made Up
07 Teri
08 Bird To The Ground
09 Starlight
10 Which Is Reality?
11 Skunk
12 Very Busy Man
13 Feel Light (Dub)



All contents Copyright © 2010 by LTM Publishing & FB.