ltmcd 2571

Various Artists | The French Avant-Garde In The 20th Century

Following on from our successful primer A Young Person’s Guide To The Avant-Garde (LTMCD 2569), LTM now offer a more comprehensive overview of The French Avant-Garde In The 20th Century. Commencing with pioneers Claude Debussy and Erik Satie, this chronological double disc collection moves forward to absurdist and dreamlike Dada and Surrealist compositions (Duchamp, Picabia, Desnos, Ribemont-Dessaignes), as well as the more conventional work of Jean Cocteau's celebrated 'Group des Six', and onwards to postwar electronics and musique concrète by Schaeffer, Henry and Varèse.
Works by a number of modern composers (Messiaen, Boulez, Greif, Catoire, Hersant) are also featured, several of these being world premiere recordings by noted French pianist Nicolas Horvath. With a generous playing time of 140 minutes, this double CD set contains an illustrated booklet with detailed historical notes.

| tracklist
01 CLAUDE DEBUSSY Canope (1909)
02 ERIK SATIE Trois Morceaux En Forme De Poire (1903)
03 GUILLAUME APOLLONAIRE Le Pont Mirabeau (1913)
04 MARCEL DUCHAMP Musical Erratum (1913)
05 GEORGES RIBEMONT-DESSAIGNES Le Nombril Interlope (1920)
06 JEAN (HANS) ARP Strassburgkonfiguration (1931)
07 FRANCIS PICABIA La Nourrice Américaine (1920)
08 ARTHUR HONEGGER Pacific 231 (1923)
09 JEAN COCTEAU Les Voleurs d’Enfants (1929)
10 ROBERT DESNOS Relation d'Un Rêve (1938)
00 L'Album Des Six (1920)
11 GEORGES AURIC Prélude (1919)
12 LOUIS DUREY Romance Sans Paroles (1919)
13 ARTHUR HONEGGER Sarabande (1920)
14 DARIUS MILHAUD Mazurka (1914)
15 FRANCIS POULENC Valse In C, FP 17 (1919)
16 GERMAINE TAILLEFERRE Pastorale, Enjoué (1919)
00 DANE RUDHYAR Tetragram #3: Rebirth (1927)
17 DANE RUDHYAR I. Appassionato Rubato
18 DANE RUDHYAR II. With Deep Tenderness
19 DANE RUDHYAR III. Sharp And Challenging
20 DANE RUDHYAR IV. Solemn And Serene
21 OLIVIER GREIF 2ème Hommage A Raymond Roussel (1971)

01 OLIVIER MESSIAEN Cantéyodjayâ (1949)
00 PIERRE SCHAEFFER Cinq Etudes De Bruits (1948)
02 PIERRE SCHAEFFER Etude Aux Chemin De Fer
03 PIERRE SCHAEFFER Etude Aux Tourniquettes
04 PIERRE SCHAEFFER Etude Violette
06 PIERRE SCHAEFFER Etude Pathètique
07 PIERE HENRY La Voile d’Orphée (1953)
08 EDGAR VARESE Poème Electronique (1958)
09 PIERRE BOULEZ Pour Flûte Et Piano (1946)
10 JEAN CATOIRE Opus 145 (1969)
11 PHILIPPE HERSANT La Lande (2001)

Copies are available by mailorder from LTM for the price of £ 12,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 2,00 per CD, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 3,00 per CD. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

LTM Publishing/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2014 by LTM Publishing & FB.