ltmcd 2589

The Passage | Pindrop + Degenerates

To mark the 40th anniversary of Pindrop, the lauded first album by cult Manchester postpunk group The Passage, LTM presents a new 2xCD set combining their 1980 debut with their third and most commercially successfully album, Degenerates, from 1982.
Formed by former Hallé Orchestra percussionist Dick Witts and Fall bassist Tony Friel in 1978, the band issued two EPs on esoteric indie label Object Music before fracturing the following year, leaving Witts to record Pindrop virtually solo. A dense, brooding, claustrophobic album, dominated by layered keyboards and incisive vocal texts, contemporary critics put Pindrop on a par with Joy Division and Wire. "A work of disciplined intellectual aggression, frantic emotions and a powerful idiomatic musicality," wrote Paul Morley in NME. "It's as shocking a beautiful nightmare, as stormy and aware a debut LP as Unknown Pleasures."
By 1982 the group were a trio, with Witts joined by guitarist Andrew Wilson and drummer Joe McKechnie, as well as an array of emerging digital technology. The third Passage album, Degenerates, appeared on Cherry Red, trailed by near-hit single XoYo. "How on earth XoYo missed the charts must remain forever a mystery," Q Magazine would note later of an album of skewed technopop, which nevertheless retained the dark truculence of the group's earlier work.
Both Pindrop and Degenerates are expanded on CD to include companion singles and radio sessions, with archive images and detailed liner notes contained in the 16 page booklet.

| tracklist
01 Fear
02 Troops Out
03 Carnal
04 Watching You Dance
05 Hunt
06 Anderton's Hall
07 From The Heart
08 Locust
09 2711
10 16 Hours
11 Carmen
12 A Certain Way To Go
13 Prelude
14 Love Song
15 Competition
16 $lit Machine
17 New Kind Of Love
18 Taking My Time
19 Clock Paradox
20 16 Hours
21 Time Delay
22 Mr Terror - Chief Of Police
23 My One Request
24 The Beginning The Dawn
25 A Man Set Out
26 Tangled
27 Shave Your Head

01 Xoyo
02 Fleck
03 Revelation
04 Love Is As
05 Born Every Minute
06 (Ourselves)
07 Go To Seed
08 Armour
09 Time Will Tell
10 Empty Words
11 Xoyo (7")
12 Animal In Me
13 Born Every Minute (flexi)
14 Taboos
15 Taboodub

Copies are available by mailorder from LTM for the price of £ 13,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 2,00, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 4,00. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

LTM Publishing/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2020 by LTM Publishing & FB.