twi 016

Pauline Murray | Pauline Murray And The Invisible Girls

Les Disques Du Crepuscule presents a deluxe remastered edition of Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls, the debut album by post/punk icon Pauline Murray, produced by revered sonic architect Martin 'Zero' Hannett.
Recorded at the famous Strawberry Studios in July 1980, the album offered epic electronic pop written by Pauline and partner Robert Blamire and marked a radical departure from their shared past in pioneering punk band Penetration. "This is sophistication," enthused Paul Morley in NME. "Lovely songs of anxiety, malaise and self-doubt." According to Melody Maker the album was "unquestionably a musical highpoint of this year or any other."
As well producer/arrangers Martin Hannett and Steve Hopkins (aka the Invisible Girls), the album features a stellar cast of guest musicians including John Maher (Buzzcocks) and Vini Reilly (Durutti Column). Indeed Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls presents almost a Factory record, exquisitely sleeved by Peter Saville and Trevor Key. Stand-out tracks include the popular singles Dream Sequence and Mr X, with the newly remastered Hannett tracks now augmented by a wealth of bonus material including non-album singles, b-sides and a John Peel session (1980). The liner note is by Jon Savage.
This double vinyl edition also includes a bonus CD featuring instrumental versions of all the album tracks (a must for students of Hannett's unique production sound), along with alternate takes of key singles.
"Its a bit of a missing link album, says Pauline today. "Written and recorded after punk, but before Martin Rushent and the Human League made airy pop respectable again. We chose the other Martin in 1980 because we wanted the incredible sounds he achieved for Joy Division and Magazine. Thundertunes, basically."
Also available on double CD (TWI 016 CD) with bonus live disc.

| tracklist
A1 Screaming In The Darkness
A2 Dream Sequence
A3 European Eyes
A4 Shoot You Down
A5 Sympathy
A6 Time Slipping
B1 Drummer Boy
B2 Thundertunes
B3 When Will We Learn
B4 Mr X
B5 Judgement Day

C1 Searching For Heaven
C2 The Visitor
C3 Animal Crazy
C4 Dream Sequence II
C5 Two Shots
D1 Shoot You Down (Peel 3/1980)
D2 Sympathy (Peel 3/1980)
D3 When Will We Learn (Peel 3/1980)
D4 Dream Sequence (Peel 3/1980)

01 Two Shots (Instrumental)
02 Mr X (Instrumental)
03 Judgement Day (Instrumental)
04 Thundertunes (Instrumental)
05 When Will We Learn (Instrumental)
06 Time Slipping (Instrumental)
07 Sympathy (Instrumental)
08 Shoot You Down (Instrumental)
09 Drummer Boy (Instrumental)
10 European Eyes (Instrumental)
11 Screaming In The Darkness (Instrumental)
12 Dream Sequence (Instrumental)
13 Animal Crazy (Long Version)
14 Searching For Heaven (Demo Version)
15 Mr X (7" Edit)
16 Dream Sequence (Amazon Version)

Copies are available by mailorder from Les Disques Du Crepuscule for the price of £ 25,- per copy (incl. UK postage), £ 30,- per copy (incl. Europe postage) and £ 35,- per copy (incl. North America/Asia postage).

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Les Disques Du Crepuscule/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2014 by LTM Publishing & FB.