twi 016cd

Pauline Murray | Pauline Murray And The Invisible Girls

Les Disques Du Crepuscule presents a deluxe remastered edition of Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls, the debut album by post/punk icon Pauline Murray, produced by revered sonic architect Martin 'Zero' Hannett.
Recorded at the famous Strawberry Studios in July 1980, the album offered epic electronic pop written by Pauline and partner Robert Blamire and marked a radical departure from their shared past in pioneering punk band Penetration. "This is sophistication," enthused Paul Morley in NME. "Lovely songs of anxiety, malaise and self-doubt." According to Melody Maker the album was "unquestionably a musical highpoint of this year or any other."
As well producer/arrangers Martin Hannett and Steve Hopkins (aka the Invisible Girls), the album features a stellar cast of guest musicians including John Maher (Buzzcocks) and Vini Reilly (Durutti Column). Indeed Pauline Murray and the Invisible Girls presents almost a Factory record, exquisitely sleeved by Peter Saville and Trevor Key. Stand-out tracks include the popular singles Dream Sequence and Mr X, with the newly remastered Hannett tracks now augmented on CD by a wealth of bonus material including non-album singles, live recordings (from tours in 1980 and 1981) and a John Peel session (1980). The liner note is by Jon Savage. In digipak.
"Its a bit of a missing link album, says Pauline today. "Written and recorded after punk, but before Martin Rushent and the Human League made airy pop respectable again. We chose the other Martin in 1980 because we wanted the incredible sounds he achieved for Joy Division and Magazine. Thundertunes, basically."
Also available on gatefold double vinyl (TWI 016) with bonus instrumentals CD.

| tracklist
01 Screaming In The Darkness
02 Dream Sequence
03 European Eyes
04 Shoot You Down
05 Sympathy
06 Time Slipping
07 Drummer Boy
08 Thundertunes
09 When Will We Learn
10 Mr X
11 Judgement Day
12 Searching For Heaven
13 The Visitor
14 Animal Crazy
15 Dream Sequence II
16 Two Shots
17 Shoot You Down (Peel 3/1980)
18 Sympathy (Peel 3/1980)
19 When Will We Learn (Peel 3/1980)
20 Dream Sequence (Peel 3/1980)

01 Screaming In The Darkness (Live 1981)
02 Searching For Heaven (Live 1981)
03 Time Slipping (Live 1981)
04 Dream Sequence (Live 1981)
05 Two Shots (Live 1981)
06 When Will We Learn (Live 1981)
07 Mr X (Live 1981)
08 Animal Crazy (Live 1981)
09 European Eyes (Live 1981)
10 Thundertunes (Live 1981)
11 Animal Crazy (Live 1981)
12 Time Slipping (Live 1981)
13 Dream Sequence (Live 1981)
14 Two Shots (Live 1981)
15 Sympathy (Live 1980)
16 Dream Sequence (Live 1980)
17 Time Slipping (Live 1980)
18 Drummer Boy (Live 1980)
19 European Eyes (Live 1980)
20 Thundertunes (Live 1980)
21 Shoot You Down (Live 1980)
22 Judgement Day (Live 1980)
23 When Will We Learn (Live 1980)

Copies are available by mailorder from Les Disques Du Crepuscule for the price of £ 12,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 2,00 per CD, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 3,00 per CD. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Les Disques Du Crepuscule/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2014 by LTM Publishing & FB.