twi 034cd

Minimal Man | The Shroud Of

Les Disques du Crepuscule presents an expanded CD edition of the debut album by Minimal Man, aka challenging American underground artist Patrick Miller, a figure of dark talent and vision who recorded 6 remarkable albums before his untimely death in December 2003.
Formed by Patrick Miller in San Francisco in 1979, the first iteration of Minimal Man cut two albums of dark industrial punk rock. Debut The Shroud Of was originally issued by Subterranean Records in August 1981, when the core of the band comprised a trio of Miller with Andrew Baumer and Lliam Hart. The album serves up 13 slices of dissonant electronics and 'anti-music', together with generous side-orders of isolation, insecurity, terror and black humour. Enjoy!
Guest musicians on The Shroud Of include Tuxedomoon alumni Steven Brown and Michael Belfer. Like Tuxedomoon, Miller would subsequently relocate from California to Europe where he continued as a prolific creator of music and visual art. His four European albums are Sex With God, Slave Lullabies, Hunger Is All She Has Ever Known and Pure. Passionate and volatile, Miller returned to California in the 1990s and died at home in 2003.
Digitally remastered, this expanded CD edition of The Shroud Of runs for over 60 minutes. The 5 bonus tracks are taken from rare 7-inch singles Two Little Skeletons and He Who Falls, the latter recorded live at the legendary Deaf Club in San Francisco in September 1979. The collection closes with compilation-only track Shower Sequence. The booklet includes a detailed Patrick Miller biography, as well as examples of his unique visual art.

| tracklist
01 Loneliness
02 Two People
03 High Why
04 Hospital
05 Blue Step
06 Hatemonger
07 The Shroud
08 Now I Want It All
09 The Hex Of Sex
10 You Are
11 I Don't Resist
12 Jungle Song
13 She Was A Visitor
14 Two Little Skeletons
15 Tired Death
16 He Who Falls (Live At The Deaf Club)
17 She Was A Visitor (Live At The Deaf Club)
18 Shower Sequence

Copies are available by mailorder from Les Disques Du Crepuscule for the price of £ 11,- per copy (incl. UK postage), £ 14,- per copy (incl. Euro postage), £ 16,- per copy (incl. overseas postage).

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Les Disques Du Crepuscule/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2022 by LTM Publishing & FB.