twi 267cd

Blaine L. Reininger | Night Air

Expanded 2xCD edition of the classic second album from Tuxedomoon member Blaine L. Reininger, originally issued by Crépuscule in 1984 and now newly remastered from the original analog tapes. Night Air was recorded in Brussels in 1983, shortly after Reininger left Tuxedomoon, in collaboration with former Sleepers guitarist Michael Belfer. Other guests include Steven Brown and Winston Tong of Tuxedomoon, and Marc Hollander of Aksak Maboul. The final mix was supervised by Gareth Jones, famed for his work with John Foxx, Depeche Mode, Einsturzende Neubauten and Wire.
The part-instrumental album offers a sequence of bittersweet expatriate vignettes. "I suppose I should be grateful to the capital of Europe for providing the seed around which so much of my spleen could crystallize for so many years," explains Reininger, who hailed from Colorado via San Francisco. "Brussels provided me with such a rich source of melancholic poetry."
The 10 core tracks on Night Air include popular single Mystery And Confusion, as well as Birthday Song (originally performed by Tuxedomoon), the elegiac Ash And Bone, and the exquisite baroque pop of A Café Au Lait For Mr XYZPTLK. The 6 bonus tracks on Disc 1 include Windy Outside (a collaboration with Mikel Rouse), The Sea Wall (performed with Durutti Column) and two versions of Crash, written by Reininger and Belfer in 1980 for Tuxedomoon, and subsequently remixed by The Residents.
Disc 2 preserves a previously unreleased live recording from Bologna, Italy, on 19 March 1984. Billed as the Spiny Doughboys Review, the 14 song set includes songs from Night Air and solo debut album Broken Fingers.
The deluxe 2xCD set is housed in a 6 panel digipack. Photography by Charles Van Hoorick, with liner notes by Reininger, Belfer and Gilles Martin.

| tracklist
01 Night Air
02 Birthday Song
03 Beak People
04 Mystery And Confusion
05 Intermission
06 Ash And Bone
07 L'Entrée de l'Hierophante
08 A Café Au Lait For Mr XYZPTLK
09 Miraculous Absence
10 El Mensajero Divino
11 Mystery And Confusion (7" Mix)
12 Bizarre Bizarre
13 Windy Outside
14 The Sea Wall
15 Crash
16 Crash (Residents Remix)

01 Violin Piece
02 Spiny Doughboys
03 Gigolo Grasiento
04 Volo Vivace
05 Ash And Bone
06 Night Air
07 Birthday Song
08 Magnetic Life
09 Sons Of The Silent Age
10 Mysterey And Confusion
11 Broken Fingers
12 Uptown
13 A Café Au Lait For Mr XYZPTLK
14 That's Amore

Copies are available by mailorder from Les Disques Du Crepuscule for the price of £ 13,- per copy (incl. UK postage), £ 15,- per copy (incl. Euro postage), £ 16,- per copy (incl. overseas postage).

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Les Disques Du Crepuscule/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2017 by LTM Publishing & FB.