twi 669cd

Paul Haig | The Warp Of Pure Fun

Les Disques du Crepuscule is proud to present a newly remastered and expanded 4-CD box set edition of The Warp Of Pure Fun, the acclaimed 1985 album by Scottish songwriter Paul Haig, formerly of influential Postcard/postpunk group Josef K. Co-produced by Alan Rankine of The Associates, The Warp Of Pure Fun followed a brief flirtation with mainstream dance-pop on the Island Records, and marked a return to warmer, more personal songs and arrangements, as well as live drums and ringing guitars, and also embracing emergent digital technology such as Akai sequencers and the Kurzweil sampling keyboard.
The album includes 4 singles in Big Blue World, Heaven Help You Now, Love Eternal and electro-funk stormer The Only Truth, the latter produced with Bernard Sumner of New Order and Donald Johnson (A Certain Ratio). As well as Alan Rankine on luxuriant keyboards, other stellar guests include drummers Steve Goulding, Toby and James Locke, bassist Michael McCann and Blaine L. Reininger of Tuxedomoon, who adds dramatic strings to epic closer Love And War.
The mammoth 64 track box set also includes a raft of extended 12" mixes, including rare US remixes by Man Parrish and Mantronik, and no less than 3 versions of The Executioner, a spooky electro collaboration with Cabaret Voltaire taped at their Western Works Studio in Sheffield. B-sides include Paul's frantic rockabilly take on Ghost Rider by Suicide, featuring Malcolm Ross and David McClymont of Josef K/Orange Juice.
Disc 2 features a fascinating early album demo recorded at home on 4 track equipment, featuring several previously unheard songs, as well as all tracks from Paul's legendary 'lost' second album from 1984, including sublime standout song Shining Hour. Disc 4 offers 9 tracks professionally recorded live in Japan in May 1985 (with accompanying radio interview), along with several more demo tracks recorded later that year. Again, several of these songs (Testimony, Wrapped, Bridges) have never been heard or released on record before.
Remastered in 2021 by Peter Beckmann at TechnologyWorks London. The booklet includes a detailed track by track commentary by Paul, along with photographs and artwork by Crepuscule design director Benoit Hennebert.

| tracklist
01 Silent Motion
02 Heaven Help You Now
03 Love Eternal
04 This Dying Flame
05 Sense Of Fun
06 Scare Me
07 Big Blue World
08 The Only Truth
09 One Life Time Away
10 Love And War
11 Ghost Rider (7" Version)
12 Endless Song (B-side)
13 Dangerous Life (B-side)
14 The Executioner (Mix#1)
15 Closer Now (B-side)
16 Trust (B-side)
17 World Raw (B-side)

01 City Life
02 Judgement Coming (1984 demo)
03 Love And War (1984 demo)
04 The Only Truth (1984 demo)
05 Heart Of Song (1984 demo)
06 Crawling (1984 demo)
07 Fear And Dancing (1984 demo)
08 One Life Time Away (1984 demo)
09 Trust (1984 demo)
10 Shining Hour (1984 demo)
11 World Raw (1984 demo)
12 All Our Love (1984 demo)
13 Love Eternal (12" Mix)
14 Shining Hour (Island Album)
15 One Life Time Away (Island Album)
16 Fear And Dancing (Island Album)
17 All Our Love (Island Album)
18 Love And War (Island Album)

01 Heaven Help You Now (12")
02 This Dying Flame (12" Mix)
03 The Only Truth (12")
04 The Executioner (Mix #2)
05 Scottish Christmas
06 Theme From 'The Persuaders'
07 Change Of Heart
08 Work The System
09 Heaven Help You Now (Mantronik Mix)
10 The Only Truth (US Remix)
11 The Executioner (Mix #3)
12 The Only Truth (Instrumental)
13 On This Night Of Decision

01 Scare Me (live)
02 Blue For You (live)
03 Heaven Help You Now (live)
04 Love Eternal (live)
05 Interview
06 Ghost Rider (live)
07 Big Blue World (live)
08 Heaven Sent (live)
09 Magdalena 82 (live)
10 The Only Truth (demo)
11 Testimony
12 Wrapped
13 Reach the Top (1985 demo)
14 Eastworld (1985 demo)
15 In-Flight Entertainment (1985 demo)
16 Bridges (1985 demo)

Copies are available at £ 22.00 including UK postage. Europe = £ 25.00 including airmail postage. North America, Asia etc = £ 30.00.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

Les Disques Du Crepuscule/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2021 by LTM Publishing & FB.