ltmcd 2320

The Names | Spectators Of Life

Belgian post-punk band The Names are best remembered for a string of superior singles and an album on the Factory and Crepuscule labels between 1980 and 1982, all produced by the legendary Martin Hannett. This 19 track CD of archive tracks includes all three tracks from the impossibly rare debut 7" from 1979, Spectators Of Life, plus no less than 10 live tracks recorded between 1979 and 1981, of which 8 are songs which have never been heard before. The earliest of these, from a Belgian radio concert, features stand-out tracks Nothing To Fear, Memories and a version of the classic Factory single Nightshift. While a show from Oostakker(!) from summer 1980 includes Questions And Answers, Other Enquiries and I Wish I Could Speak Your Language. Superb material which echoes other keyboard-led groups of that era such as Magazine and Simple Minds.
This collection further includes two compilation tracks (Tokyo Twilight and Ballade A Tervuren) and the TWI 111 b-sides (Shining Hours and Revenge), as well as 2 outtakes from the band's mid-90s reunion as Jazz, including a cover of I'm In Love With A German Filmstar, originally a hit in 1981 for The Passions.
The CD runs for fully 73 minutes and has been digitally remastered from original master tapes. The booklet includes full recording details and biographical notes, and the cover features original artwork by Benot Hennebert. The Names studio back catalogue proper is available on the CD Swimming + Singles (LTMCD 2324).

| tracklist
01 Spectators Of Life (from first 7")
02 White Life (from first 7")
03 The Drive (from first 7")
04 Nothing To Fear (Live '79)
05 Foreign Rendezvous (Live '79)
06 Actually (Live '79)
07 Memories (Live '79)
08 Nightshift (Live '79)
09 Mirrors (Live '80)
10 Questions And Answers (Live '80)
11 I Wish I Could Speak You Language (Live '80)
12 Other Enquiries (Live '80)
13 Burn (Live '81)
14 Tokyo Twilight (from TWI 058 compilation)
15 Shining Hours (from TWI 111)
16 Revenge (from TWI 111)
17 Virtual (Jazz outtake)
18 I'm In Love With A German Filmstar (Jazz outtake)
19 Ballade Tervuren

Copies are available by mailorder from LTM for the price of £ 10,- per copy.

Postage and packing: UK: post-free. Europe: please add £ 2,00 per CD, USA/Rest of the world: please add £ 3,00 per CD. If you wish to purchase several items at the same time we are happy to agree a reduced postage rate.

Payment methods: we are happy to accept PayPal (our Paypal ID is, as well as cheques and IMOs in UK Pounds Sterling, or well-disguised cash (UK Pounds Sterling, US $ Dollars and Euros only). However, cash is sent at your own risk. Please make cheques payable to 'LTM Publishing Ltd' and mail to our postal address at the bottom of this page.

Please clearly write your name, delivery address and telephone or fax number on all correspondence. Send your order to:

LTM Publishing/James Nice,
Mole End,
Eastgate Street,
North Elmham,
Norfolk NR20 5HE,
United Kingdom

Tel: 00 44 (0) 1362-667764

See also the Mailorder Catalogue page.


All contents Copyright © 2002 by LTM Publishing & FB.